Last Date of Nomination: 25th January'19

PMAY - Empowering India Awards 2019

The flagship scheme of Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana has been designed to meet the housing needs of the urban poor. The Mission is to be implemented during 2015-2022 and will provide central assistance to Urban Local Bodies (ULBs) and other implementing agencies through States/UTs for developing Affordable Housing in Partnership.For India to reach its goal of building two crore homes by 2022, it will have to build at the rate of 30 lakh houses per year. But, the government is running strikingly short on its goal at the moment. Private developer has to play a key role for the success of Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana and achieving its target.

PMAY - Empowering India Awards 2019” seeks to recognize the sincere efforts and contributions of private developers in achieving Hon’ble Prime Minister's dream of “ Housing for All by 2022” through different PPP models and promoting affordable housing with private investments.

We are pleased to announce the 1st edition of “PMAY - Empowering India Awards 2019”. This award scheme is designed to provide an opportunity for private developers from each state in India to participate in showing their best practices in providing affordable housing for all in urban areas. The assessment involves a two stage evaluation process in identifying the best design and development solutions demonstrated in each state in affordable housing for EWS, LIG & MIG categories.


With an objective of acknowledging the inestimable contributions of Private Developers in Implementation of the affordable housing scheme of Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana - “PMAY- Empowering India Awards 2019” has been constituted.

The aim is to recognize, motivate and facilitate Builders/Companies to adopt innovative practices in developing affordable housing solutions under PMAY-Urban. The objective is to recognize and acknowledge exceptional contributions made by different states towards:

  • Developing innovative solutions appropriate to EWS, LIG & MIG sections of the society.
  • Contributions to sustainable initiatives.

PMAY - Empowering India Awards 2019” will be given to the private developer which has shown innovation in the way they design, build and as well as offer a variety of services to their buyers - Recognizing and Benchmarking newly developed affordable housing society that showcase innovative concept, unique financing mechanisms, comfort, quality design and high-quality affordable housing.


Mr. Abhai Sinha Former - Director General


Dr. Mangesh G. Korgaonker Director General


Dr. N. Gopalakrishnan Director

Central Building Research Institute

Dr. Pawan Singh Managing Director

PTC India Financial Services Ltd.

Mr. Arun Sahai Chief Operating Officer


Mr. A. Puhazhendi President

Builders Association of India

Mr. Amit Gossain Managing Director


Mr. C. S. Bajwa CEO

Chhattisgarh Housing Board


  • Benchmark the efforts made by different builders on providing / developing affordable housing under PMAY-Urban.
  • Obtain valuable perception from a comprehensive assessment by highly reputed Panel of Experts.
  • Gain insight and opportunities for refinement/advancement in finding most innovative solutions appropriate to different sections of the society.


  • The entity should be a private real estate development company.
  • Any affordable housing efforts made by the private developers in any state under PMAY-Urban.
  • The nomination form needs to be stamped & signed by owner in case of proprietorship firm, by partner for partnership firm and in case of company MD, Director, CEO, COO, CFO, President, Vice-President etc. should sign the form.
  • Relevant documents needs to be attached. Specific backup information may be of verifiable nature (documented records like engineering drawings, annual report, presentation, photos, video footage etc.) as relevant to the query.
  • Please submit the completed nomination form by 19th January’2019.


PMAY - Empowering India Awards 2019” endeavors to recognize excellence in Indian Real Estate sector by executing a very standardized and rigorous methodology. Various categories and evaluation methodologies has been developed by Knowledge Partner- CBRI. Applications from private builders would be sought in response to a questionnaire based on quantitative and qualitative aspects of businesses.

The entries received shall be evaluated against the attributes identified by The Expert Committee from CBRI- CSIR Roorkee.

The parameters are:

  • Functional efficiency, energy efficiency, use of sustainable or green building materials/technologies, safety against earthquake, cyclones, & fire, use of renewable energy, rainwater harvesting, cost-effectiveness, and other innovative features without compromising on quality.

The assessment shall be based on the preliminary evaluation by an Expert Committee to short list three best entries from each state under EWS, LIG & MIG categories. The entries will be further evaluated by inviting the selected ones for presentation in front of JURY and the final best will be selected from each state based on uniform criteria.


  • Each project is to be nominated separately.
  • Organization can submit its application in the prescribed ‘Application Proforma’ online.
  • Nomination Fee: Rs. 17,499/- (Rupees Seventeen Thousand Four Hundred Ninty Nine Only) + 18% GST .
  • If you have any query about the application form, please contact Mr. B Shekhar (M)+91-9910933326 / +91-9911933321 or email us at


Special Award categories have been designed for Industry Association/ Financial Institute to acknowledge their contributions to affordable/ low cost housing segment Under PMAY- URBAN. The award in these categories will be given to commercial bank/ housing finance company/ industry association for recognizing their sincere efforts and contributions in achieving Hon’ble Prime Minister's dream of “Housing for All by 2022".

  • 1. Award for commercial bank/ housing finance company for Empowering "PMAY-URBAN" programme
  • 2. Award for Industry Association for their extraordinary contribution to Govt.’s mission of “Housing for All by 2022"
  • 3. Nomination Fee: 24,899/- (Rupees Twenty Four Thousand Eight Hundred Ninty Nine Only) + 18% GST.


  • Step 1:   Register your organisation for the award scheme.
  • Step 2:   Fill and submit the nomination form.
  • Step 3:   Pay the nomination fee online.
  • Step 4:   Take the printout of the nomination form. Seal and Sign by the Authorised Signatory.
  • Step 5:   Attach the relevant/required documents and send it to CBRI- Roorkee to below mentioned address.


  • The Chief Scientist & Head
  • Architecture & Planning and Efficiency of Building Departments,
  • Room No. 102, CSIR- Central Building Research Institute (CBRI),
  • Under Ministry of Science & Technology, Govt. of India.
  • Roorkee - 247 667, Uttarakhand (India)